Alphabetical list of animals name from a to z

Yellow Baboon [Papio cynocephalus] Facts

Monday, July 17, 2017

Yellow Baboon [Papio cynocephalus] Facts

Yellow baboons facts pictures
The yellow baboon is a baboon in the family of Old World monkeys.

Yellow baboons are aptly named for the yellow-brown fur which covers their bodies except for their undersides, including the inner surfaces of the limbs, cheeks, and patches of fur on either side of the muzzle, which are white

Yellow Baboons Scientific Classification

Kingdom Animalia
Phylum Chordata
Class Mammalia
Order Primates
Family Cercopithecidae
Genus Papio
Species P. cynocephalus
Scientific Name Papio cynocephalus

Yellow Baboon Fun Facts

Yellow baboon is omnivorous with a preference for fruits, but it also eats other plant parts, as well as insects.

Baboons are some of the world's largest monkeys.

There are five species of baboon : olive, yellow, chacma, Guinea, and hamadryas.

The three subspecies of the yellow baboon are: Papio cynocephalus cynocephalus (typical yellow baboon) Papio cynocephalus ibeanus (Ibean baboon).

Baboons are highly opportunistic eaters and will eat almost any food they come across. Yellow baboons use at least 10 different vocalizations to communicate.

The scientific name for yellow baboons comes from the Greek words kynos and kephalikos, meaning dog and head, respectively.