Alphabetical list of animals name from a to z

Yaks [Bos mutus] Facts

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Yaks [Bos mutus] Facts

Yak facts pictures
Yaks are long haired bovines. They belong to the same family as the cow. Their hair is very thick to help them to keep warm.

Most yaks are either brown or black but sometimes they are white. Yaks have long pointed horns.

There are two types of yaks. The wild yak and the domestic yak. The domestic Yak is smaller and its coat is less furry, but more diverse in color than the wild yak

Where are Yaks Found?

Yaks are found in Tibet and in Asia.

What Do Yaks Eat?

Yaks are herbivorous animal, they eat grass and plants.

Where Do Yaks Live?

Yaks live on treeless areas on hills, mountains and plateaus.  When the weather is warm, the Yaks live in the areas where there is snow.

When the weather is colder, they move into the areas that are still snowy, but that are warmer.

Yak Scientific Classification

Kingdom Animalia
Phylum Chordata
Class Mammalia
Order Artiodactyla
Family Bovidae
Genus Bos
Species B. grunniens
Scientific Name Bos mutus

Fun Facts About Yaks

⧪ Yaks secrete a sticky substance in their sweat which mats their hair and acts as extra insulation.

⧪ Predators of the yak are Tibetan wolves, brown bears and snow leopards.

⧪ Yaks are part of the same family as bison and domestic cattle.

⧪ Yak cheese contains high levels of healthy fats including conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) and omega-3 fatty acid.